Facebook just released a big update for its Instagram application. Users can now send private photos and videos directly to any user. This feature is called “Direct Requests.”
We’ve constructed a three-part series for everything you need to know about this new feature. The series will cover “How To Send Direct Requests,” “How To Access Direct Requests” and “Privacy of Direct Requests.”
Leave comments below to let us know your thoughts on the latest update or with any questions you might have. Here is part three in our series:
Privacy of Direct Requests
1) Private photos and videos can be sent to users regardless if they follow them or are followed by them.
2) Each user has the option to deny private messages from a user permanently. If you follow a user and deny their ability to send requests, it will unfollow you from their public posts as well. If you deny receiving direct requests from a user you do not follow, it will ban them from your Instagram account.
3) You can visit a banned user’s Instagram account and follow them to remove the ban.
4) When you ban someone from sending videos or photos, initially the sender does not know this happened. If they try to send you another direct request, the app will not let your username appear as an option.
5) If you choose to view the message, the sender does not know this happened (unlike how Snapchat enables this feature).
5) Private messages do not show up in your home feed.
*Facebook is continually updating this new feature. As new updates come in, we’ll update our posts.